Coronavirus: Ryanair latest airline to cancel flights amid COVID-19 pandemic – Edinburgh News

The group’s flights to Poland have been cancelled for the rest of the month while the country faces “lockdown” in an attempt to tackle the spread of COVID-19.

The announcement came after the Polish government decided to impose measures across the entire country to prevent the disease spreading.

In a statement, the Ryanair Group said: “In response to the decision of the Polish Government to “lock down” the entire country to contain the spread of the Covid-19 virus, Ryanair Group (including Buzz and Lauda) has been forced to cancel all flights to/from Poland, from 24:00 Sat 14 Mar until 24:00 Tues 31 Mar.

Ryanair latest airline to cancel flights amid COVID-19 pandemic Copyright: JPIMedia

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

“We are contacting all affected customers by email to advise them of their options and we urge customers not to call us.

“This is a fast-moving and complex situation and the safety and well-being of our people and customers is our main priority. We will continue to comply fully with all WHO and EASA guidelines and we will follow any travel restrictions that are imposed.

“Ryanair Group Airlines apologise sincerely to all customers affected by these Government Restrictions in order to combat the Covid-19 virus.”

Read More

Read More

Coronavirus in Scotland: 36 new cases confirmed bringing total to 121

TUI and Jet2 confirmed today that no flights will be running to Spain.

The announcement came after some flights had to turn round in mid flight.

US president Donald Trump has recently announced the UK and Ireland are included in the European travel ban.

To find out more about what the travel ban means, read our story here.

The ban will begin at midnight EST on Monday (04:00 GMT Tuesday), Vice-President Mike Pence announced, who also confirmed free coronavirus testing will be available for every American.

Flights to and from Scotland that could be affected include United and Delta airlines who fly daily year-round between Edinburgh and New York.

Other routs include summer flights from Edinburgh, that were due to start next month, to Boston, Chicago, Orlando, Philadelphia and Washington DC and also from Glasgow to New York and Orlando.

As of Saturday morning, the US had already suspended travel for 30 days from 26 Schengen countries – 22 European Union members and four non-EU.

They are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The UK and Ireland had been exempt but Mr Trump announced today: “They’ve had a little bit of activity, unfortunately.”

As of today, the total number of confirmed cases in the UK has reached 1,140, with 21 deaths – up from 11 on Friday.

News Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *